The Network

Technical Assistance and Dissemination Network


The Technical Assistance and Dissemination Network (TA&D Network) is a network of approximately 45 Centers funded by the US. Department of Education’s Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP). These projects provide information and technical assistance to states, schools, educational professionals and families. The network is made up of Comprehensive Centers, Equity Assistance Centers, Regional Education Labs, and the Regional Resource Center Program.

Comprehensive Center Network

The Federal Comprehensive Centers program awards discretionary grants that support 22 comprehensive centers to help increase State capacity to assist districts and schools in meeting student achievement goals.

There are 15 Regional Centers that provide services primarily to State Education Agencies (SEAs) to enable them to assist school districts and schools, especially low performing schools. At a minimum, each regional center provides training and technical assistance in the implementation and administration of programs authorized under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) and the use of research-based information and strategies.

The other seven Content Centers focus on specific areas of expertise. These centers supply research-based information and products in their specific area that regional centers use when working with state educational agencies (SEAs).

Regional Comprehensive Centers

Regional Centers provide frontline assistance to states to help them implement the ESEA other related federal school improvement programs and help increase the capacity of states to assist their districts and schools. Regional Centers are embedded in their regions and are responsible for developing strong relationships and partnerships within their regional communities.

Content Centers

Together, seven Content Centers cover a spectrum of school improvement and technical assistance areas. Each of them is responsible for providing in-depth knowledge, expertise, and analyses in their focal areas to Regional Centers and the states they serve. Content Centers disseminate information about scientifically based research on effective practice and research-based products in their area of specialty. They also provide expertise that Regional Centers can use in delivering technical assistance to states. The other six Content Centers are:

Equity Assistance Centers

Equity Assistance Centers are funded by the U.S. Department of Education to provide technical assistance and training, upon request, in the areas of race, sex, and national origin, to public school districts and other responsible governmental agencies to promote equitable educational opportunities. The centers work in the areas of civil rights, equity, and school reform. This assistance helps schools and communities ensure that equitable educational opportunities are available and accessible for all children.

Regional Educational Labs (REL)

REL serves the educational needs of a designated region by providing access to high-quality, scientifically valid educational research through applied research and development projects, studies, and other related technical assistance activities. The U.S. Department of Education funds REL.

Regional Resource Center Program

The Regional Resource Center Program is funded by the federal Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) to assist state education agencies in improving education programs, practices, and policies that affect children and youth with disabilities. Through the RRC Program, the individual RRCs work collaboratively to help states and U.S. jurisdictions identify and address issues both within and across regions, as well as nationally.